The commune of Zebrzydowice located in picturesque Cieszyn Silesia is increasingly relying on weekend tourism. Attractive leisure centers in Kończyce Małe and Zebrzydowice are to attract tourists here. In summer, in the capital of the commune, you can find relaxation on the large pond “Młyńszczok” with an open-air swimming bath, a water equipment rental shop and a beach. Walking and Cycling trails run in the vicinity and there are snack bars and entertainment facilities.
The Zebrzydowice Palace is a building of neat, compact shape,
which received its present form as a result of the
reconstruction carried out in the eighteenth century.
Originally, it was a defensive structure, which was built in
medieval times. It had probably the character of a Gothic
castle. The residences, which over the centuries completely
changed its form, suffered greatly in the postwar period.
Today, it houses the seat of the commune office and several
The parish in Zebrzydowice is now part of the deanery of
Strumień of the Bielsko-Żywiec diocese. It was already
mentioned in 1335 in the list of Peter’s pence, although it
is a bit older. The village itself was founded at the end of
the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. At that time,
two wooden shrines were erected: the Zebrzydowice
church, which soon became a parish church, and the
church in nearby Marklowice, which for a long time was a
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Kończyce Małe was built in the first half of the eighteenth century. It was rebuilt and modernized after the war. Although the building lacks any definite style, some elements refer to Baroque and Classicism. Inside the church one can find a beautiful, miraculous image of the Madonna and Child, which is a unique representation of Mary with a dandelion flower in her hand.